SEARCH:
Search the Library Site
Search the Web
Search the Catalog
 
 
Named the "Best Small Library in America" for 2008
Chelsea District Library
 

Chelsea District Library Databases


Use these online resources to find information for school projects or personal use. Most databases can be accessed at home by entering your library card number. Databases are available only in the library where noted. If you have trouble with access, please contact the reference desk at (734) 475-8732.

Still don’t know which database to use? Try searching all state-provided databases with the MeL MultiSearch or database provider Gale's PowerSearch. To find out which databases includes a particular journal, search the Electronic Journal List from MeL. Reference librarians are also available to help with searching.

Jump to:

> Databases listed by Category
> Databases listed Alphabetically

 
 
 
Databases by Category:

Click the name of any database to jump to a description and link to the database.
 

General Reference

Art & Antiques

Business

Foreign Languages

Genealogy & Local History

Health

Newspapers, Magazines & Journals
Magazine articles

Newspaper Articles

Scholarly Journal Articles

Reading Guides & eBooks

Students
Elementary School

Middle School

High School

Teaching

Other

 
 
Databases Listed Alphabetically:

Full database descriptions: Click on the database title to access the database.

Academic One File – Source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources in all subjects, including full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Ancestry Library – In Library Only – US and UK census records; passenger lists; birth, marriage and death records; and other genealogy material.

ArticleFirst – General interest and scholarly articles from 16,000 publications covering business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. (1990-present)

Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Biographical entries from more then 1,000 reference sources, totaling citations that point to nearly 5 million people from all time periods and geographical locations.

Biography Resource Center - Nearly 414,000 biographies on more than 320,000 people as well as full-text articles from more than 265 magazines chosen for their biographical content in a broad range of subject areas.

Business and Company Profiles ASAP - Profiles of 150,000 companies, plus full-text articles on topics including companies, products, markets, economics, and management.

Business and Company Resource Center - Company information, including profiles, histories, investment reports, rankings, and links to articles and web sites.

CAMIO - The Catalog of Art Images Online contains 95,000 high-resolution images of works of art, sculpture, costume, architecture, and more, including curatorial notes in many cases. Rights to the images are cleared for educational use.

ChiltonLibrary - Convenient online access to the most widely used set of auto repair manuals, covering domestic and foreign cars made in the past 30+ years.

CINAHL Basic - Indexing for nearly 3,000 journals in the nursing and allied health fields, including 1 million citations dating back to 1982.

Computer Database - Articles from publications about the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. (1980-present)

Culturegrams - Concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports on 187 cultures of the world. Aimed at students in grades 3-12. Culturegrams - Remote access

ECO - Abstracts and full-text articles from 5,000 scholarly journals covering a variety of academic subjects. (1995-present)

Educator's Reference Complete - Full-text results from more than 1,100 journals and several hundred reports aimed at educators from preschool through college. Contains full-text for many journals cited in ERIC.

eLibrary Elementary – A colorful, graphical search interface helps kids find answers from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, web links, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies. Aimed at students in grades K-6.

ERIC - Annotated references to articles listed in the Current Index to Journals in Education and Resources in Education. (1966-present)

Expanded Academic ASAP - Full-text articles from 2,000 journals in all academic subjects, plus indexing from an additional 1,000 journals. For college students and adults. (1980-present)

Gale Virtual Reference Library - A collection of reference books, including the Gale Encyclopedias of U.S. Economic History, Alternative Medicine, Cancer, Medicine, Genetic Disorders, and Multicultural America, plus the Encyclopedia of Small Business; Beecham’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America; the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; an encyclopedia of biology; and the World of Earth Science.

General Business File ASAP - Full-text business, industry, management, economics, investment, and company information from business and trade publications. (1980-present)

General OneFile – Full-text from 4,200 general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers. Also includes indexing of major newspapers and newswires.

General Reference Center Gold – General interest magazines, business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles. Includes selected articles from Crain’s Detroit Business (1993-present) and Detroit Free Press (2000-present).

GPO Monthly Catalog - All types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). (1983-present)

Grand Rapids Press - Text of Grand Rapids Press articles. (2000-present)

HandPressBook - Descriptive records for hand-pressed books created in Europe between 1455 and 1830.

Health and Wellness Resource Center - Health-related articles from medical and general interest publications, encyclopedias, and directories.

Health Reference Center Academic - Journal and newspaper articles, newsletters, and overviews of various health topics.

HeritageQuest - Census records, family histories, an index to genealogy periodicals, and Revolutionary War era pension records, among other genealogy material.

History of Science, Technology & Medicine - A bibliography of the history of science, including citations from 9,500 journals from around the world, plus books, conference proceedings, and dissertations.

Informe - Full-text articles from many of the most popular Spanish-language newspapers and magazines.

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers– Full-text articles and indexing from a collection of 120 U.S. and international newspapers. 1996-present. Titles include the Grand Rapids Press, USA Today, the New York Times, the Financial Times, and the International Herald Tribune.

Junior Edition - Magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles plus facts and other reference material. For middle schoolers.

Kid’s Edition - Newspaper and magazine articles, reference material, and maps for students in grades K-6.

Kids InfoBits - Information on a variety of subjects, plus magazine articles and images. Designed for students in grades K-5.

Learn a Test - Online practice tests, including the SAT, GRE, TOEFL, and civil service exams.

LegalTrac - 100 full-text and 1,300 indexed sources including law reviews, legal newspapers, and international legal publications

Literature Resource Center - Summaries and critical essays about thousands of works of literature, plus author biographies and links to literature web sites.

Making of Modern Michigan - A collaborative project by more than 50 libraries across Michigan with access to historical photographs, family papers, oral histories, and other genealogical material

Mango Languages – is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills  for a wide variety of languages.

MEDLINE - Abstracts from nearly 10,000 publications contained in Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. (1965-present)

Michigan Authors and Illustrators - Information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan.

netLibrary - 12,000 e-books available to check out and read on your computer

NewsBank - Full text of articles from the Ann Arbor News (2004-present) and Jackson Citizen Patriot (2000-present), plus the Detroit News, Detroit Free Press, Flint Journal, Grand Rapids Press, Lansing State Journal, Toledo Blade, and Chicago Tribune.

NoveList – Book reviews, annotations, and other information for 125,000 fiction titles, plus read-alikes and book discussion guides.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Coverage of current event topics, focusing on the facts and arguments of each topic’s proponents and detractors. Aimed at students in grades 8-12.

Reference USA – Addresses, sales and staffing numbers, and other information about 13 million U.S. businesses.

SCIPIO - An online listing of the contents of catalogs from art and rare book auctions, dating from the late 1600s to the present.

SIRS Discoverer - Full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines and government documents. Aimed at students in grades 1-9.

SIRS Renaissance - A database of dynamic information on architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy, and visual arts, containing full test articles from 1,200 publications.

Student Edition - Magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles plus facts and other reference material. For high schoolers.

Tumblebooks - A collection of interactive, animated e-books for young children. Tumblebooks also offers games, audiobooks for all ages, and easy-to-read large print books for all ages.

Turfgrass Information File - From the Michigan State University library’s Turfgrass Information Center and the United States Golf Association, this database has articles on landscaping, different kinds of grasses, and environmental factors.

What Do I Read Next? - A readers’ guide database that will offer suggestions on future books to read based on criteria selected by the user.

Wilson Select Plus– Full-text articles on business, health care, communications, art, politics, technology, and engineering topics from more than 1,600 publications. (1994-present)

World Almanac - Facts, statistics, and encyclopedia articles on a variety of subjects drawn from the Funk & Wagnall’s New Encyclopedia and The World Almanac and Book of Facts. (1998-present)

WorldCat - The largest and most comprehensive database of library holdings, with 57 million records from more than 9,000 libraries around the world. Patrons can ask librarians to order books from WorldCat holdings through interlibrary loan,

 
 
 

Web Site Design & Hosting by Five Sparrows, LLC